2000-12-04 - Before bedtime

Well, kiss my grits. Barely a day goes by since I set up this page and already I�m giving out a GOYA.

A brief explanation for those who don�t know me: GOYA stands for "Get Over Yourself Award." I started giving them out a couple of years ago, to writers (usually on Salon.com) whose inability to distinguish between keen personal insight and boring self-involvement has brought them to the farthest depths of absurdity. The concept originated on a private listserv I�m on, but I plan on making it a semiregular feature here--I just wasn�t expecting to do it so soon.

(And yes, I�m fully aware that poking fun at narcissistic writers on a Diaryland page, of all things, leaves me open to charges of hypocrisy. But what better venue is there to strip self-obsessed stupidity of all its pretensions so that millions of people can point at it and laugh, I ask you?)

Anyway, tonight�s GOYA is bestowed upon the thin woman who wishes all you fat people would quit oppressing her:

"The mania surrounding our preoccupation with physical beauty is like a raw wound, and has morphed into a cloud of damning hostility toward anyone who has attained an aspect of 'the physical ideal.'

"... after 20 years of battling my own demons, I've decided my weight is just fine with me. Politically incorrect though it may be, I own my thinness."

Hoo-fucking-ray for you. It must be hard to eat anyway with your head jammed so far up your ass. Can I have your French fries?

***

Go backwards ... Go forwards

current entry
previous entries
email miguelito


The Day Leslie Made Me Cool - 7:32 p.m. , 2006-12-14

Goodbye, Leslie - 12:02 a.m. , 2006-12-13

When the Nearest Lamppost Isn't Close Enough - 11:49 p.m. , 2005-09-06

Dear Kurt Vonnegut: Get out of my head. - 6:19 p.m. , 2004-05-14

The apocalypse will be televised - 11:35 a.m. , 2004-05-12



MIGUELITO