2000-12-06 - Time for dinner

I have a long, stinking rant about TicketMaster all stored up right now, but I�d better let it sit and ferment for a while. Like kimchi. The Koreans bury it for up to six months until it thoroughly putrefies, and look how far they�ve gotten in the New World. They pretty much own East Hollywood now.

***

Besides, I don�t want any of you to start thinking I�m always angry. Getting ripped off by unscrupulous adaptive-equipment repair shops annoys me, but I�m quite centered and mellow most of the time. I�m not one of those bitter old cripples you see in the movies, hoarding every last grievance he�s suffered in anticipation of the day he rules the world and makes all those who slighted him pay dearly for their insolence, oh so dearly ... um, I�m not like that. Really.

I don�t even have a death ray, at least not a very big one.

One of the disability-related listservs I�m on has been chattering nonstop about this movie Unbreakable. I�m feeling obligated to see it--which normally is totally not the case for anything with Bruce Willis in it--because it stars Samuel L. Jackson (who would have made The Phantom Menace about a million times better if he�d had more screen time and perhaps been allowed to eviscerate both Jar-Jar Binks and the acting-impaired little kid), and because the Samuel L. Jackson character has the same disability as I do. Some people on the list have their shorts in a bunch because they didn�t cast an actor who actually has that disability. While I sympathize, I�m also like, "Of course they didn�t! They had SAMUEL L. FUCKING JACKSON! The dude turns a movie into a blockbuster just by glaring at the camera. And if they cast someone who looked like me they wouldn�t have been able to resist putting cutesy inspirational lines in my mouth, unless the director was David Lynch, in which case he�d have had me talking backwards."

I�m so over mainstream movies these days. I blame the art-fart theater down the street, which shows a lot of good indie and foreign films (plus the occasional crappy Kurdish movie like what I saw the other night). It�s come close to turning me into a total film-school snob--which is bad, because there�s still a whole lotta white trash in me just desperate to bust out and renting Russ Meyer flicks only keeps the wolves at bay for so long.

***

Go backwards ... Go forwards

current entry
previous entries
email miguelito


The Day Leslie Made Me Cool - 7:32 p.m. , 2006-12-14

Goodbye, Leslie - 12:02 a.m. , 2006-12-13

When the Nearest Lamppost Isn't Close Enough - 11:49 p.m. , 2005-09-06

Dear Kurt Vonnegut: Get out of my head. - 6:19 p.m. , 2004-05-14

The apocalypse will be televised - 11:35 a.m. , 2004-05-12



MIGUELITO