2001-01-11 - Night

One of the reasons I love my job is that I get goofy letters like this:

"Ya know, it�s not hard to spot a clear bias in the magazine towards folks who fit a certain incontinence profile. More specifically, there�s a clear bias towards folks (largely males) who are urinary incontinent, and who solve their problems using external caths or through intermittants. ... there was neither clear recognition nor �tolerance� for folks who due to conditions or whatever need to wear incontinence briefs as opposed to say external catheters."

I am Shitty-Pants Woman. Hear me roar.

As should be clear by now from the other entries in this diary, Miguelito hates professional victims. Which is why making him a member of an oppressed minority group and putting him on the editorial staff of a publication targeted toward that group is proof positive that God does have a sense of humor, after all.

***

It�s been pissing rain all day--meaning that my normal impulse to blow off work and go soak up some rays is being held in check for the time being. Instead, I�m tempted to blow off work and curl up in my lounge chair with a cup of hot tea and a good book. I�m nothing if not adaptable.

***

(The following contains spoilers for Tuesday night�s Buffy. If you hate reading spoilers, skip the next two paragraphs.)

Yes, curiousity, Willow was definitely being a flighty, stuck-up bitca last episode. But let�s face it, she�s always had that side to her, particularly when it comes to Xander and Anya. I love her anyway, and the character was written pretty broadly this week, but it doesn�t exactly come from out of nowhere.

I kind of miss Riley, actually. That�s a minority opinion among Buffy fans, but I thought his hokey GI Joe-ness was a nice contrast to the other characters on the show. And now he�s gone just when he�s starting to get darker and more interesting.

Oh well, at least Angel�s turned into a good show. With Drusilla in costumes stolen from the set of an Austin Powers movie, yet! What�s not to like?

***

Go backwards ... Go forwards

current entry
previous entries
email miguelito


The Day Leslie Made Me Cool - 7:32 p.m. , 2006-12-14

Goodbye, Leslie - 12:02 a.m. , 2006-12-13

When the Nearest Lamppost Isn't Close Enough - 11:49 p.m. , 2005-09-06

Dear Kurt Vonnegut: Get out of my head. - 6:19 p.m. , 2004-05-14

The apocalypse will be televised - 11:35 a.m. , 2004-05-12



MIGUELITO