2001-01-20 - Evening

Didn�t make it to TJ. Got talked by some friends into waiting in line for U2 tickets instead.

I don�t go in for arena concerts generally--I prefer paying less money and actually being able to see the people onstage--and I haven�t bought a U2 album since The Joshua Tree came out and Bono�s ego expanded to fill all of known space, but they�re one of two bands I grew up with that I�ve never seen in concert and want to catch live at least once before I die (R.E.M. is the other one), so whatthefuck.

I haven�t waited in line for concert tickets since the Police in--*urgh*--1982. These kids today don�t know how hard we had it back then. We had to trudge five miles in the snow to the box office and shiver in our sleeping bags the night before and one guy always wound up smoking all the pot on the way over so there was none left for anyone else by the time he got there ... but you know what? We liked it!

Actually, very little has changed--except that now, half the people in line are also dialing TicketMaster on their cellphones at the same time they�re waiting for their turn at the box office. That�s just wrong, somehow.

Oh, and they give out wristbands now and draw numbers at random so you don�t have to camp out all night. Which means you can get stoned before leaving home. Ah, progress.

***

Hey, fedward--I think the word you�re looking for is "coronation."

***

Go backwards ... Go forwards

current entry
previous entries
email miguelito


The Day Leslie Made Me Cool - 7:32 p.m. , 2006-12-14

Goodbye, Leslie - 12:02 a.m. , 2006-12-13

When the Nearest Lamppost Isn't Close Enough - 11:49 p.m. , 2005-09-06

Dear Kurt Vonnegut: Get out of my head. - 6:19 p.m. , 2004-05-14

The apocalypse will be televised - 11:35 a.m. , 2004-05-12



MIGUELITO