2001-01-29 - Lunchtime

When that nightmarish Aerosmith/N�Suck halftime routine came on I was sitting in a pub nursing a McEwans. I immediately turned to the waitress, pointed at the teevee and said, "I�m sorry, could you take my drink back? Someone put LSD in it--how else do you explain that?"

I swear, I crack me up sometimes.

That and the cool Eyevision thing are all I recall of the Superbowl. I�ve programmed my brain to block out commercials, even (or especially) the overhyped and overexpensive ones that run during the Superbowl, and besides that I�m just not much of a football fan. I used to be, but that particular guy-gene went MIA about 15 years ago. I think seeing Joe Theismann snap his leg in half killed it.

Hey, just imagine what that would have looked like in Eyevision!

On second thought, no, let�s not imagine that.

***

I just noticed! My whole lunch is WHITE today! WHITE tuna with WHITE mayonaisse on a slice of WHITE bread with a helping of WHITE cottage cheese! Just like what WHITE people used to eat back when WHITE people ruled the world and everything was bland and boring and WHITE!

Oh, wait, there�s this glass of orange juice. Ah, but what does orange juice remind you of? Anita Bryant, of course! And what color was Anita? I�ll be damned if she wasn�t WHITE!

Sorry. I�ll go get some fresh air now ...

***

Saw O Brother, Where Art Thou? on Saturday. Worth seeing if, like me, you worship at the altar of the Coen Brothers--and even if you don�t, it�s still worth seeing George Clooney as a hick-accented parody of himself. And I�m pretty sure I ran into the John Turturro character in Simi Valley once.

***

Go backwards ... Go forwards

current entry
previous entries
email miguelito


The Day Leslie Made Me Cool - 7:32 p.m. , 2006-12-14

Goodbye, Leslie - 12:02 a.m. , 2006-12-13

When the Nearest Lamppost Isn't Close Enough - 11:49 p.m. , 2005-09-06

Dear Kurt Vonnegut: Get out of my head. - 6:19 p.m. , 2004-05-14

The apocalypse will be televised - 11:35 a.m. , 2004-05-12



MIGUELITO