2001-02-15 - High noon

Two words: Deadlines suck. Especially when they�re from last week. Bleh.

***

I�ve finally reached a point in my life where I no longer hate Valentine�s Day. (And before you chalk that up to typical single-guy bitterness, let me add that I�ve hated Valentine�s Day even when I�ve been in relationships.) Yeah, it�s still a completely manufactured "holiday" designed to make single people feel lonely and unwanted and to give marketers yet another excuse to scream BUY OUR SHIT! at otherwise happy couples--but who says I have to buy into it? Wearing black and making retching noises at every wuvvy-duvvy couple I see, as I�ve been known to do in the past, merely gives the day attention it doesn�t deserve. So, yesterday I sent out some flowers, mailed a couple of cards, phoned a few friends, and then forgot about it.

If we really wanted to do Valentine�s Day right, we�d make it a semiofficial holiday and give everyone three hours off in the middle of the day. Couples (or threesomes or foursomes) could use it for a nice, leisurely lunchtime fuck, while single people could walk on the beach, shop, take long bubble baths, jerk off, go bungee-jumping, or do whatever makes them feel good about themselves. Just don�t do it all at the same time.

Of course, I don�t have much trouble loving myself anyway. Being an aspiring Evil World Emperor sort of presupposes it.

***

Fuck, am I glad I don�t live in the South. No offense to my friends who live there, but how the hell do you manage it? This poor dude in Virginia gets sterilized as a kid because of stoopid classism and eugenics prejudice and all the state legislature has to say is, "We regret it"? I bet they�re really bummed out over all those lynchings, too.

Obviously I�m biased here because if I�d been born there at the turn of the century I�d have been snipped, too, but Jeezus Loueezus already. Can we fight the Civil War over again and let the Confederates win this time? Then I wouldn�t have to be embarrassed about living in the same country as them.

***

Just saw this in the Diaryland Members area:

"A new feature just got added to those profiles too--the ability to find people with the same tastes as you. For instance, you can find people who like George Orwell, or Rocket from the Crypt or Repo Man, or whatever."

I don�t know why, but the juxtaposition of those three things just tickles me.

***

Go backwards ... Go forwards

current entry
previous entries
email miguelito


The Day Leslie Made Me Cool - 7:32 p.m. , 2006-12-14

Goodbye, Leslie - 12:02 a.m. , 2006-12-13

When the Nearest Lamppost Isn't Close Enough - 11:49 p.m. , 2005-09-06

Dear Kurt Vonnegut: Get out of my head. - 6:19 p.m. , 2004-05-14

The apocalypse will be televised - 11:35 a.m. , 2004-05-12



MIGUELITO