2001-04-01 - 9:13 p.m.

While sitting in line at the supermarket today I found myself flipping through this Spanish-language tabloid called Mira! which I�d never seen before. From the front page:

SELENA: Su voz curas a los enfermos!

Shit. Now they tell me. If I�d known this when I was still living in L.A. I�d have spent more time hanging out with my friend Ron whose next-door neighbors always cranked Selena up to 11 to cover up the noise from their domestic disputes. Maybe I�d be up and walking by now. Or at least this weird zit on my eyelid would be gone.

The rest of the tabloid was just your basic, run-of-the-mill, I-saw-the-face-of-Jesus-in-my-bathroom-mirror-type stuff--nothing worth paying two bucks for. But still, if even the supermarket freak-sheets are going bilingual, I guess the multiculturalists were right after all.

***

Go backwards ... Go forwards

current entry
previous entries
email miguelito


The Day Leslie Made Me Cool - 7:32 p.m. , 2006-12-14

Goodbye, Leslie - 12:02 a.m. , 2006-12-13

When the Nearest Lamppost Isn't Close Enough - 11:49 p.m. , 2005-09-06

Dear Kurt Vonnegut: Get out of my head. - 6:19 p.m. , 2004-05-14

The apocalypse will be televised - 11:35 a.m. , 2004-05-12



MIGUELITO