2001-11-28 - 10:49 p.m.

One of my favorite lines ever from "Cheers":

Sam: What�s up, Norm?

Norm: My nipples, it�s COLD outside.

I still believe George Wendt is one of the unrecognized comic geniuses of our time and I�ll believe it until the day I die.

***

Granted, "cold" is a relative term here. But when it gets down into the high 30s like it�s done the last couple of nights, I quite frankly don�t care. Anyone who chooses this particular moment to snark at me about how this would be T-shirt-and-shorts weather in Minneapolis or Toronto can lick my balls--if you can find them. I think they�ve run off and found a nice cozy fold in my small intestine to hibernate in till spring.

This is San Diego, goddamn it--we endure low wages, high rents, pathetic sports teams, nonexistent city services and inept local government in exchange for summery weather all-year round. It�s not allowed to be this cold.

On the upside, however, I�m still sick, so I get to sleep in. (One of the great things about working at home is that I can blow it off whenever I want--so long as my deadlines get met and the cat doesn't starve, I can huddle in bed doped up on NyQuil all day and no one's going to kvetch at me about it.) Wrapping yourself up in snuggly warm blankets isn�t much fun when it�s 90 degrees outside, though--cold weather is much better for that. Plus, there�s that snow-nymph who, once I�m awake, brings me hot chocolate while wearing a white fur coat with nothing else underneath ... or did I just dream that?

***

Got another missive from the P.C. language police today. To wit:

In addition, we noticed your used the term wheelchair user in multiple areas. Within the field of Disability Studies this is not appropriate language to use. Person-first language is politically correct if you want to call it that. We have information on this if you would like to receive it and there are some experts that we can get you in touch with. We have found that some persons with disabilities don�t mind being called "a disabled person" or "wheelchair user" but there are some very good reasons why it is more positive to use the person-first language. Let me know if you have any questions.

Thanks, Amy

No, Amy. Thank you.

Reading that, I could just smell the lentils and hear the crappy folk-music, couldn�t you?

***

Go backwards ... Go forwards

current entry
previous entries
email miguelito


The Day Leslie Made Me Cool - 7:32 p.m. , 2006-12-14

Goodbye, Leslie - 12:02 a.m. , 2006-12-13

In Which Miguelito Discovers the Origins of His Evel Knievel Complex - 12:45 p.m. , 2003-11-17

You know that your generation is fucked when ... - 9:54 p.m. , 2002-10-15

Pedestrian rant - 11:46 p.m. , 2002-10-02



MIGUELITO