2002-01-27 - 8:15 p.m.

* Anyone who says that Hard Core Logo is "sort of" like This Is Spinal Tap needs to have their head examined--preferably with sharp surgical instruments. I loved the latter and also enjoyed the former, but to compare the two at all is like saying Titus Andronicus is "sort of" like Titanic. Except for the Titanic-sucking-dusty-Edwardian-ass part.

* Giving the lead singer/sociopath of a fictitious punk band the name "Joe Dick" is a stroke of pure genius.

* I already know what I want for my birthday. You know that howitzer-like thingy they use to fire giveaway merchandise into the crowd between periods at San Diego Gulls games? You don�t? Well, goddammit, go to a Gulls game and find out. And then get one for me. I want it.

* Why do I always say, "Let�s just meet out in front of the arena before the game starts and we can get our tickets"? That never works. Never ever. Is this the point where someone tells me that stupidity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results?

* That said, seeing a hockey game in San Diego is a lot of fun, in a weird way. Although now I have to go see a surfing competition in Newfoundland to restore balance to the universe again.

* Exactly what is it about The Matrix that annoys the shit out of me? It can�t all be Keanu Reeves� fault.

* Can it?

* Quick poll: What is the first thought that pops into your head after seeing the trailer for Attack of the Clones? (1) "Wowie-wow--the next chapter in the Star Wars saga! I can�t wait till it comes out!" (2) "Aw crap--another Star Wars movie. Guess I�d better start emotionally preparing myself to drag my sad lemminglike ass into the theater for yet another hollowed-out, empty husk of what used to be an exciting cinematic event." (3) "Geez, did Natalie Portman get a boob-job, or what?"

* At least Jar-jar�s not in it.

* Oh, wait--Jar-jar is in it.

* Fuck.

* OK, you�re right--it is all Keanu Reeves� fault.

***

Go backwards ... Go forwards

current entry
previous entries
email miguelito


The Day Leslie Made Me Cool - 7:32 p.m. , 2006-12-14

Goodbye, Leslie - 12:02 a.m. , 2006-12-13

In Which Miguelito Discovers the Origins of His Evel Knievel Complex - 12:45 p.m. , 2003-11-17

You know that your generation is fucked when ... - 9:54 p.m. , 2002-10-15

Pedestrian rant - 11:46 p.m. , 2002-10-02



MIGUELITO