2000-12-13 - Late mid-afternoon

Right now I'm at one of those critical life-junctures where the decision I make now could either make the next 10 years a cakewalk or send it all spiraling down the crapper:

1) I could go swimming tonight. One of the side-benefits of living in a Southwestern city is that I can say things like "I could go swimming tonight" in the middle of December and not sound certifiably insane. I usually go first thing in the morning, but the radio woke me up with that godawful song by the Dandy Warhols and that left me in too foul a mood to fight for an open lane with all the senior citizens who show up at the pool at 5 a.m. and stay till past 9. Don't old people ever sleep?

On the other hand, going in the evening means dealing with all the soccer moms from Mira Mesa and their shrieking demonic children. On the other other hand, however, I got my flu shot today, and if it manages to make me sick, as it often does, then a community pool is as good a means as any to infect all of San Diego. It's all part of my diabolical plan, you see.

2) I could stay home and watch Bush and Gore attempt to make nice with each other and the American people after all the eye-scratching and hair-pulling they've been doing for the last month and a half. As I said a few days ago, the whole thing makes no difference anyway since you all will be bowing down before me real soon now ... but it pays to keep a close eye on what my pawns are doing.

3) I could go buy cat food. Some things wait for no one, not even me.

I'll report back on my decision later tonight. Until then, take frequent pee-breaks so you won't wet yourself with anticipation.

***

Go backwards ... Go forwards

current entry
previous entries
email miguelito


The Day Leslie Made Me Cool - 7:32 p.m. , 2006-12-14

Goodbye, Leslie - 12:02 a.m. , 2006-12-13

When the Nearest Lamppost Isn't Close Enough - 11:49 p.m. , 2005-09-06

Dear Kurt Vonnegut: Get out of my head. - 6:19 p.m. , 2004-05-14

The apocalypse will be televised - 11:35 a.m. , 2004-05-12



MIGUELITO