2001-01-17 - Afternoon

Have I ever mentioned that I�m a Great Big Geek(tm)? I have tons of work to do today and yet I pissed away much of the morning looking at the DSM-IV online and seeing just where my neuroses fit in the grand scheme of things. Shit, there�s a personality disorder for every occasion, isn�t there?

Don�t get me wrong. I did my year-and-a-half stint in therapy--pretty much mandatory in the state of California--and I think I came out of it a better person. If nothing else it gave me a place to put my spleen into high gear. (See, kiddies, we didn�t have Diaryland back then.) But for every good therapist out there, there�s a bad one, and for every bad one there are about 85 million horrible, put-your-self-esteem-in-a-blender-and-pour-it-over-your-head ones. And until you let them inside your head you can�t tell them apart--they all look alike, goddamn it.

It all goes back to what I said earlier about professional victims, too--way too many people in North America find it way too easy to blame all the fuckups in their lives on the fact that their parents never got them that choo-choo train they wanted for Christmas. And they all end up writing for Salon.

***

(Mild spoilers for last night�s Angel.)

I really hate it when Angel goes into Harrison-Ford-in-Blade-Runner voiceover narrator mode. And what�s with this whole "I�m not ready to fight Darla, but I�m ok with setting her on fire"? I�ve decided that if Angel had never been turned into a vampire he�d have lived out his life as Morrissey.

Still, the upcoming Lindsey/Lilah power struggle should be fun to watch--and I just dig the hell out of Drusilla. If I were a writer for this show I�d be spending hours just thinking up loopy things for her to say. She needs to lose the red turtleneck, though.

And all the villains on the show need to reread the Evil Overlord FAQ--specifically, the section on Just Killing Your Enemies Instead of Taunting Them Long Enough to Give Them a Chance to Hit Back or Escape. Don�t make me come down there and use my death ray on you.

***

Go backwards ... Go forwards

current entry
previous entries
email miguelito


The Day Leslie Made Me Cool - 7:32 p.m. , 2006-12-14

Goodbye, Leslie - 12:02 a.m. , 2006-12-13

When the Nearest Lamppost Isn't Close Enough - 11:49 p.m. , 2005-09-06

Dear Kurt Vonnegut: Get out of my head. - 6:19 p.m. , 2004-05-14

The apocalypse will be televised - 11:35 a.m. , 2004-05-12



MIGUELITO