2001-02-02 - Afternoon

So I woke up this morning to find my dick head sticking out of my boxers. I guess we�re in for six more weeks of winter.

***

Put the March issue to bed yesterday. Yay for me. All that�s left now is the waiting; the prepress people are on the East Coast, so if I haven�t gotten any panicky phone calls from them by 2 p.m. the next day I can declare the magazine done and go to the beach, or the movies, or a bar--anyplace that isn�t in front of my computer.

To celebrate, I rented a video last night. This may sound like a boring way to start the weekend, and it is--except that the video store I went to is this hole-in-the-wall I�ve been meaning to visit for some time. It�s small, it�s seedy, it�s got a huge selection of cult films (hell, a whole section of Troma films alone!) and it�s staffed entirely by movie geeks who�d gladly disembowel anyone who tried to rent Titanic there; in other words, it�s what a video store should be.

I wound up renting A Thief in the Night.

Hoo boy.

I�d never seen it, but I�ve been curious about it for years because all my friends who were raised fundamentalist Christian still have nightmares from being subjected to it as children. I did read The Late Great Planet Earth as a teenager and had an odd (though secular) fascination with apocalypse that I fed by reading every book I could find about Nazi Germany and obsessively watching "V" (that TV series in which Earth is invaded by fascist lizards from outer space wearing �70s Houston Astros uniforms). So when I saw a copy of it sitting there (and a battered and well-worn copy it was, too--I don�t think I want to know where it�s been) I couldn�t pass it up.

Anyway, the movie itself. I had to turn it off two-thirds of the way through because I couldn�t take that one chyk�s screaming for another second. (In case you haven�t seen it, the central character pretty much whines, sobs and screams her way through the whole movie--if she had anything resembling a line of actual dialogue, I don�t remember it.) But I did fast-forward through the rest to see the weird, Bobby-Ewing-in-the-shower-type ending I�d been told about. And the rest of it--the wacky Brady Bunch wardrobe (apparently during the Tribulation everyone will be forced to wear polyester), the newscasters slipping into King James Version English as they recite Biblical verses over the radio, that bad guy with the muttonchops that look like they�re eating his face--was fun, in a man-oh-man-I-wish-I-were-watching-this-on-MST3K sort of way.

And now I want to repaint my van to look like one of those evil UNITE vehicles in the movie, and then drive around East County with it and watch people freak out. God�ll get me for this.

***

Go backwards ... Go forwards

current entry
previous entries
email miguelito


The Day Leslie Made Me Cool - 7:32 p.m. , 2006-12-14

Goodbye, Leslie - 12:02 a.m. , 2006-12-13

When the Nearest Lamppost Isn't Close Enough - 11:49 p.m. , 2005-09-06

Dear Kurt Vonnegut: Get out of my head. - 6:19 p.m. , 2004-05-14

The apocalypse will be televised - 11:35 a.m. , 2004-05-12



MIGUELITO