2001-02-03 - Early evening

Cool! My first piece of hate mail!

"fuck u u piece of shit, why u hate blink 182 for? rocket from the crypt sucks and so do oldfuckers like u!! fag --dean"

I should have known it�d be about music--something about music just brings out the intolerance in some people, especially 15-year-olds who haven�t discovered the shift key yet. And I can�t reply to him personally because he courageously mailed me from the oh-so-not-original fake address, "[email protected]." Ah, well. Allow me to respond point by point here:

1) I don�t hate Blink. I think their music fucking sucks, but that�s not at all the same thing. For all I know Mark, Tom and Travis are great guys who I�d enjoy getting wasted with--from where I�m sitting they seem like your basic everyday geeks from North County who formed a band so that they�d get laid (a perfectly valid reason for forming a band), lucked out and then turned into the Backstreet Boys of punk, which may or may not have been their fault. None of that makes them bad people, but it doesn�t make their music suck any less, either, or make the ubiquitousness of it on the radio any less irritating.

2) Hey, to each his own. But if I were you I�d think twice before telling them they suck. Rumor has it that the liner notes for Scream, Dracula, Scream! were printed in the blood of someone who flipped off Speedo at a show once. It�s just a rumor, but still.

3) "oldfuckers"--I like that word. It�s got a nice Orwellian Newspeaky sound to it--"oldfuckers unbellyfeel Ingsoc." But what does it mean? People who only fuck the elderly? People who only fuck in the missionary position with the lights off? Or, like all good Newspeak words, does it mean anything Big Brother wants it to mean?

4) Calling me a fag assumes either that (a) I�m not one and will be insulted by the suggestion that I am, or (b) I am one and will have my delicate fag feelings hurt by being called one. Assume nothing. And besides, "dean," you�re the only male Blink 182 fan in the entire universe and you�re calling me a fag? The lady doth protest too much, methinks.

5) That last line was from Shakespeare. You can find him in the library. Under "S."

6) The "library" is that big room at your school with all the books in it.

Love,

Miguelito

***

Go backwards ... Go forwards

current entry
previous entries
email miguelito


The Day Leslie Made Me Cool - 7:32 p.m. , 2006-12-14

Goodbye, Leslie - 12:02 a.m. , 2006-12-13

When the Nearest Lamppost Isn't Close Enough - 11:49 p.m. , 2005-09-06

Dear Kurt Vonnegut: Get out of my head. - 6:19 p.m. , 2004-05-14

The apocalypse will be televised - 11:35 a.m. , 2004-05-12



MIGUELITO