2001-02-26 - Night

Apparently I�m the last person in the universe to hear about the guy in a wheelchair who got tossed/pushed/knocked over on his head at an XFL game a couple of weeks ago. How the hell did I miss that? I�m usually all over stories of gimp abuse.

The more I think about it, though, the more I come to believe that the whole thing was staged. This is the XFL, after all, brainchild of the same guy who made LET�S GET READY TO RUMBLLLLLLLLE!!!! part of our national discourse. I bet the XFL folks were simply getting impatient for one of their players to get killed on the field and dreamed up the gimp-tossing incident as a way to garner some much-needed publicity while they wait.

And what makes the victim here so special, anyway? The news report says he wound up in a puddle of blood and beer with a gash in his head. Isn�t that how all football fans wind up after a game?

If, in fact, the wheelchair section at the L.A. Coliseum doesn�t have a railing to keep you from rolling off the edge, well, that�s just plain stupid. But if it turns out that this dude actually got into an altercation with one of the other fans and didn�t have anything to grab hold of to keep from falling, well, that�s even stupider. I�ve been in fights with drunken assholes before and I�ve found that he�s always got a couple of things I can reach easily that will put him in his place right away. A simple snatch-yank-and-half-twist maneuver and even the biggest opponent ends up on the floor crying for mommy.

***

Go backwards ... Go forwards

current entry
previous entries
email miguelito


The Day Leslie Made Me Cool - 7:32 p.m. , 2006-12-14

Goodbye, Leslie - 12:02 a.m. , 2006-12-13

When the Nearest Lamppost Isn't Close Enough - 11:49 p.m. , 2005-09-06

Dear Kurt Vonnegut: Get out of my head. - 6:19 p.m. , 2004-05-14

The apocalypse will be televised - 11:35 a.m. , 2004-05-12



MIGUELITO