2001-04-05 - 11:39 a.m.

Anyone else watch "That�s My Bush!" last night? I liked it better than I thought I would--although not quite in a "Wow! That was hilarious! I�ve got to watch this every week!" way. More in a "That was amusing--I�ll be sure to watch it again if I don�t feel like masturbating before bed instead" sort of way.

I do have a few quibbles with it. First of all, the maid needs to be black. No offense to Marcia Wallace, but what�s the point of doing a sendup of �70s sitcom cliches if the wisecracking domestic who�s smarter than her boss isn�t African-American? I�d have cast RuPaul instead. I also would have named the character Florida.

The foulmouthed-Eraserhead-baby-as-antiabortion-spokesman gag didn�t really work for me either. Trey and Matt should have saved that bit for a later episode and spent more time refining it. The baby sounded way too much like Cartman, for one thing.

Finally, I would have liked to see the Dubya-related humor have just a teensy bit more bite to it. Depicting His Shrubness as a loveable dimwit in the McLean Stevenson mold may make well-educated liberals feel all superior, but it�s not particularly subversive or challenging. (In that same vein, if the Democrats have wussied out so thoroughly that they need Barbra Fucking Streisand to tell them to grow a pair, we�re in for an even longer four years than previously feared.)

But then, this is comedy. Inject too much politics into it and you get ninth- or tenth-season M*A*S*H with Alan Alda shrieking, "Why don�t they STOP THIS WAR???" every two minutes. Dear Trey and Matt: Don�t let Alan or Mike Farrell anywhere near this show. Keep Ed Asner at a safe distance, too.

***

Congratulations to Badsnake and Deb on 10 fabulous years together. Excuse me for a moment while I don my Grand Poobah hat and clear my throat.

[ahem...]

Happy an-ni-ver-sary

Happy an-ni-ver-sary

Happy an-ni-ver-sary

HAAAAAAAP-pyanniversary!

Pancakes and syrup will be served in the Fellowship Hall.

***

Go backwards ... Go forwards

current entry
previous entries
email miguelito


The Day Leslie Made Me Cool - 7:32 p.m. , 2006-12-14

Goodbye, Leslie - 12:02 a.m. , 2006-12-13

When the Nearest Lamppost Isn't Close Enough - 11:49 p.m. , 2005-09-06

Dear Kurt Vonnegut: Get out of my head. - 6:19 p.m. , 2004-05-14

The apocalypse will be televised - 11:35 a.m. , 2004-05-12



MIGUELITO