2001-05-04 - 4:59 p.m.

So Rocket from the Crypt has been touring for the last month and is wrapping it up with a show in San Diego tonight. This afternoon my kidney stone popped out with minimal pain while I was taking a pee. Coincidence? I think not.

***

More good news: The Abilities Expo--the big gimp trade show I have to work at--is the second weekend in June, not the first as I�d originally feared. What this means is that I have NO scheduling conflicts when Badsnake and family are in town. Lesbian Pancakes ahoy!

***

Could someone in Philadelphia please slap this guy?

"Just when I thought that every absurdity of political correctness had played itself out, I saw one of the strangest manifestations of today's obsession with enforced �equality�: musical theater for the deaf.

"At a recent touring performance of the long-running Broadway musical Les Miserables, I could not help noticing two people standing on a brightly lit platform just below and to the right of the stage. Upstaging the actual performers, these people waved their hands frantically, trying to keep up as they translated the show's lyrics into sign language."

Of course the guy goes on to trash the ADA and blabber on for another 500 words or so about "political correctness," as if it were 1992 and Bill Clinton had just been elected. All this because deaf people like shitty musicals, too. What a crybaby.

God knows, I�ve never been accused of being "politically correct." I was ranting about left-wing PC stupidity long before it was cool. But I don�t bother anymore. These days, it seems like, the most annoying and pathetic professional victims are to the right of me politically. Here white conservatives have never been more powerful--they control Congress, they control the Supreme Court, and the Supreme Court gave them the White House--and still you can�t open a newspaper without seeing some bow-tied ninny shrieking "Help! Help! I�m being repressed!" because they can�t grope their female coworkers in the lunchroom, or something. Whatever.

Dear Mr. Tracinski: You might want to consider upping your Ritalin dosage if the presence of two sign-language interpreters is enough to distract you from such an overblown spectacle as a Les Miz performance. Just a thought.

***

That�s that. Off to have a fish taco and then to the Rocket show. God, I love this town.

***

Go backwards ... Go forwards

current entry
previous entries
email miguelito


The Day Leslie Made Me Cool - 7:32 p.m. , 2006-12-14

Goodbye, Leslie - 12:02 a.m. , 2006-12-13

When the Nearest Lamppost Isn't Close Enough - 11:49 p.m. , 2005-09-06

Dear Kurt Vonnegut: Get out of my head. - 6:19 p.m. , 2004-05-14

The apocalypse will be televised - 11:35 a.m. , 2004-05-12



MIGUELITO