2001-06-29 - 4:29 p.m.

Quick question: Am I the only person in the world who took note of the irony that for most of this past week there was this big bioengineering conference here in the same city that was the setting for Attack of the Killer Tomatoes? Or that the producer of Attack of the Killer Tomatoes, Steve Peace, eventually got elected to the State Assembly and was the main architect of utility deregulation in California? Or that Tony Gwynn announced yesterday that he�s retiring at the end of the season?

OK, that last one didn�t have anything to do with the rest. It�s just noteworthy.

Apparently the conference was pretty boring--and the hordes of anti-everything protesters who were expected to show up and run rampant through downtown decided to spend their summer break Freeing Mumia instead. Meanwhile, the hundreds of police who�d been put on alert status have had nothing to do all week but make Krispy Kreme runs and collect overtime. Color me unsurprised.

I wonder if Steve Peace is at all embarrassed about anything he�s done.

***

Go e-mail Badsnake right now and tell her to tell Deb to start posting recipes, goddamn it. One of my projects for this summer is to teach myself to cook, and I need recipes. Not that I'll ever be worthy to lick Deb's spatula ... but I need something to aspire to. And so do you.

WHAT ARE YOU STILL DOING HERE? GO E-MAIL HER, I SAID!

***

Go backwards ... Go forwards

current entry
previous entries
email miguelito


The Day Leslie Made Me Cool - 7:32 p.m. , 2006-12-14

Goodbye, Leslie - 12:02 a.m. , 2006-12-13

When the Nearest Lamppost Isn't Close Enough - 11:49 p.m. , 2005-09-06

Dear Kurt Vonnegut: Get out of my head. - 6:19 p.m. , 2004-05-14

The apocalypse will be televised - 11:35 a.m. , 2004-05-12



MIGUELITO