2002-01-22 - 7:51 p.m.

Is it just me, or have the selection and customer service at Borders really started to suck stinky unwiped ass lately? I went in there last night looking for a history of the L.A. punk scene that had just come out, and not only could I not find it--I couldn�t even find the music section. Or anyone who�d help me find the music section. Or anyone who�d order the book for me without throwing major stuck-up bookstore-employee �tude at me. Geez, wench, where do you think you are, the Tattered Cover? You�re working at a freakin� Borders, for chrissake.

They did have a huge-ass Oprah�s Book Club display, though. And you can get decaf lattes with nonfat milk at the cafe now. Yip-fucking-yee.

San Diego isn�t a reader�s town--that�s the one and only complaint I have about living here. The only decent independent bookstore shut its doors last year, and while the city will bend over backwards and saddle itself with 20 years� worth of debt to build a new ballpark for the Padres it can�t be bothered to pay for a new public library that would serve as something other than a rainy-day shelter for homeless people. I guess I can�t blame Borders for knowing its market. Now that it�s driven all the indies out of business, it knows it can put all the good books in the back till the few literate people in town ask for them and fill up its shelves instead with all the beach reading and self-help crapola that practically sells itself in California. About half the people in line had that horrific Who Moved My Cheese? book in their hands. I fear for the future.

***

Hey, Dlove--if you do run for mayor, can I be your press secretary? My mass-mind-control ray is almost done but I still have to beta-test it.

***

Go backwards ... Go forwards

current entry
previous entries
email miguelito


The Day Leslie Made Me Cool - 7:32 p.m. , 2006-12-14

Goodbye, Leslie - 12:02 a.m. , 2006-12-13

In Which Miguelito Discovers the Origins of His Evel Knievel Complex - 12:45 p.m. , 2003-11-17

You know that your generation is fucked when ... - 9:54 p.m. , 2002-10-15

Pedestrian rant - 11:46 p.m. , 2002-10-02



MIGUELITO