2002-01-25 - 12:43 p.m.

Last night at the deli, I tried chopped liver for the first time ever. It wasn�t awful (except for the color), but I probably wouldn�t go out of my way to order it again. At least now, if nothing else, whenever any of my friends or family get all needy and shit and ask me if that�s what I am to them, I can give them an honest answer. One can�t properly evaluate one�s relationships with other people until one has a baseline for comparison.

***

Speaking of delis, and chopped liver, and places where you can get anything delivered (see yesterday�s entry), my formerly-cancelled-due-to-terrorism New York trip is back on for April. Take that, Mister Osama bin Dickweed.

One blessing-in-disguise of postponing my visit for six months is that post-9/11 hotel rates in New York City are quite a bit lower. Granted, they�re still not dirt-cheap, but at least you don�t have to sell your plasma every day for a year to afford a standard room at a Holiday Inn Express anymore. Not that I�d actually stay at a Holiday Inn Express, mind you. The last one I stayed at was in Dallas and had a huge sign over the registration desk saying WELCOME LIVESTOCK BREEDERS--that pretty much turned me off on Holiday Inn Express forever instantly. And I hadn�t even seen the Jesus People in the coffee shop yet.

Sorry. Thinking about Texas makes me tangential. Where was I?

Oh, yeah. New York.

Back in July, when I originally booked this trip, I reserved a room at a place which was in a great location but which, upon further study, turned out to be of ... um ... questionable quality. Meaning its service was minimal. And its rooms were miniscule. And its page on Citysearch New York had something like 85 million reviews on it saying what a bunghole the place was. All that and more for 200 bucks a night. Whee.

So this time around I decided to upgrade, and I hit paydirt. If all goes well--i.e., if Travelocity manages not to fuck up my hotel reservation--I�ll be staying at a nicer place in an even better location, with lots of good reviews and zero bad ones, with service and amenities up the yin-yang ... at roughly 20 percent less than what the skanky other place would have cost me.

Miguelito�s Rule #23: When it comes down to a choice between Economy and Fabulousness, always choose Fabulousness.

I�m so stoked about this trip I could pop. Now the real hard work begins: convincing certain online friends on the East Coast to roadtrip to NYC to see me. (You paying attention, Blivet?)

***

Go backwards ... Go forwards

current entry
previous entries
email miguelito


The Day Leslie Made Me Cool - 7:32 p.m. , 2006-12-14

Goodbye, Leslie - 12:02 a.m. , 2006-12-13

In Which Miguelito Discovers the Origins of His Evel Knievel Complex - 12:45 p.m. , 2003-11-17

You know that your generation is fucked when ... - 9:54 p.m. , 2002-10-15

Pedestrian rant - 11:46 p.m. , 2002-10-02



MIGUELITO