2002-02-08 - 4:01 p.m.

So the Winter Olympics start tonight and I�m having a few people over to watch it. I love the Olympics and all, but the cheese potential of the opening ceremonies is so high that I need someone around to call 911 in the event my brain explodes. Or at least to trade MST3K-style riffs with me--it�s no fun doing that alone.

The big question I have going in is who will irritate me more--the mooks who spend countless hours chanting U!S!A!! U!S!A!! whenever we have the Olympics here, or the whiners abroad (and snooty pseudosophisticates at home) who spend countless hours going on and on about Us Arrogant Americans. So Americans like to root for the home team and do so exuberantly and loudly--get over it already. It�s not my particular style but I�m not about to write indignant 2,000-word essays in The Nation about it. Offended by boorish U.S. fans? Make some noise for Canada or Norway. Or win more medals. Just stop wanking.

***

Watched Chuck & Buck last night. Man, that is one truly-uly-uly-uly-uly-uly fucked-up film. Yikes.

***

Got a jury-duty summons for next week. Bleh. I�m half-tempted to show up in a Starfleet uniform, or to do what John Doe allegedly once did and to scrawl VIVA LA ANGEL DUST across the summons and then send it back. He didn�t get called again for 10 years, or so the story goes.

Yeah, I know--yadda yadda civic duty blah blah blah. Except San Diego has boring crime. At least in L.A. I had an outside chance of seeing Squeaky Fromme or O.J. Simpson or Robert Downey Jr. in the courtroom and maybe getting their autograph. Not that I�d ever actually get picked for a jury, mind you. Lawyers hate me, defense lawyers especially--because I�m reasonably intelligent, and because I have a disability and am thus not inclined to give two shits about how Society forced their scuzzball client to knock over that liquor store and rape that 80-year-old deaf woman at gunpoint. Also, my personality is ultra-J, and I�ve had friends in law school tell me they�re taught to keep Js off juries at all costs. Gee, I wonder why.

At least they have a one-day-or-one-trial system here--so hopefully they�ll see me coming a mile away and send me home. It�s happened before.

***

Go backwards ... Go forwards

current entry
previous entries
email miguelito


The Day Leslie Made Me Cool - 7:32 p.m. , 2006-12-14

Goodbye, Leslie - 12:02 a.m. , 2006-12-13

In Which Miguelito Discovers the Origins of His Evel Knievel Complex - 12:45 p.m. , 2003-11-17

You know that your generation is fucked when ... - 9:54 p.m. , 2002-10-15

Pedestrian rant - 11:46 p.m. , 2002-10-02



MIGUELITO