2002-07-02 - 4:53 p.m.

Slow, slow week so far. I�ve got an article due yesterday, but I�m too busy shipping the August issue, and since this is the week before a major national holiday, no one I need to interview will be returning calls anyway. But hey, at least the freeways are relatively clear--what with all the useless terrorism alerts making everyone afraid to leave the house between now and July 5, and all.

Me, I�ll actually be quite surprised if anything terroristic happens this weekend at all. One thing that living in California--land of earthquakes, brush fires, floods, riots, locust plagues and O.J. Simpson--is that the likelihood of a disastrous event on a specific date is inversely proportional to the amount of handwringing in the weeks leading up to that date. Of course, I could be wrong--which is why I just covered my ass back there--but remember Y2K?

Anyhoo. I don�t have much to write about today, so I guess I�ll post a recipe. I�ve made this twice in the last week, with slightly different ingredients the second time because I ran out of mustard. I think the second time turned out better, but it�s your call.

Whole wheat pasta with sausage, mustard and caramelized onions

6 oz. spicy link sausage (I used some turkey sausage with jalapenos and jack cheese, courtesy of the Big Gay Ralphs)

3 tbsp. olive oil

2 large onions, cut into thin rings

1/2 lb. whole wheat pasta (the cookbook recommends fettuccini, but I used penne, which is all I had on hand and holds sauce better anyway)

2/3 cup chicken or vegetable broth

2 tbsp. chopped parsley

1 tbsp. gourmet mustard (I was out of mustard the second time, so I substituted turmeric and it turned out yummy)

salt

freshly ground black pepper

Slice the sausage into thick rounds and fry in the oil for 4 minutes. Add the onion rings. Continue cooking, covered, stirring every so often as the onions start to soften.

Cook pasta in boiling water until it�s ... tender but firm ... al dente ... you know, done. Drain.

After about 15-20 minutes, when the onions are golden and caramelized and slightly burned at the edges, add the broth. Bring to a boil, using a spatula to scrape up all the nummy stuff stuck to the pan. Stir in the parsley and the mustard or turmeric. Pour over the pasta and enjoy. Serves 2.

***

Go backwards ... Go forwards

current entry
previous entries
email miguelito


The Day Leslie Made Me Cool - 7:32 p.m. , 2006-12-14

Goodbye, Leslie - 12:02 a.m. , 2006-12-13

In Which Miguelito Discovers the Origins of His Evel Knievel Complex - 12:45 p.m. , 2003-11-17

You know that your generation is fucked when ... - 9:54 p.m. , 2002-10-15

Pedestrian rant - 11:46 p.m. , 2002-10-02



MIGUELITO