2001-02-28 - Morning

So the SciFi Channel has been rerunning the original Star Trek and it amazes me how my viewing experience of certain episodes has been contaminated over the years. Like, the other night they showed the one with Sargon and his wife and I couldn�t stop thinking of The Gobbler. When I saw "Mirror, Mirror" it kept reminding me of the parody they did on MST3K. Then last night they showed "Patterns of Force" (the one where Gene Roddenberry raided the studio�s costume department for every Nazi uniform it had) and during the scene where Kirk and Spock are being flogged all I could think about was, "I wonder if that�s the same kind of flogger Badsnake uses."

There�s probably something all postmodern and shit to be said about this, but then again maybe it�s just that my gray matter soaks up pop-culture references the way Bounty soaks up spills. Which means that that part of my brain is ruled by Nancy Walker, I guess.

***

Go backwards ... Go forwards

current entry
previous entries
email miguelito


The Day Leslie Made Me Cool - 7:32 p.m. , 2006-12-14

Goodbye, Leslie - 12:02 a.m. , 2006-12-13

When the Nearest Lamppost Isn't Close Enough - 11:49 p.m. , 2005-09-06

Dear Kurt Vonnegut: Get out of my head. - 6:19 p.m. , 2004-05-14

The apocalypse will be televised - 11:35 a.m. , 2004-05-12



MIGUELITO