2001-03-08 - Late morning

A while ago I came across this quiz on one of my friends� pages. I�ve been saving it for a day when (a) I can think up somewhat clever, witty, joie-de-vivre-packed answers, and (b) there ain�t shit going on that�s worth writing about here. That day is today. Enjoy. And feel free to bare your soul and fill the quiz out yourself, if the mood strikes you.

1. LIVING ARRANGEMENT?

An island fortress off the Pacific Coast, surrounded by shark-infested waters and with state-of-the-art Stealth technology to keep it from being seen from the air. Inside, the facility is staffed by genetically engineered superhumans with black belts in seven martial arts, graduate degrees in linguistics, and identical gold leather uniforms.

Seriously. The place only looks like a little 1BR/1B in the middle of San Diego.

2. WHAT BOOK ARE YOU READING NOW?

I�m reading several. Exile�s Return is slow going--it took strength of will to finally finish the section on the history of Dadaism because I kept putting the book down to go and read something else. But the rest of it is moving along at a smooth clip. I also just started Declare by Tim Powers, another one that�s tough to get into (all his books are, but the payoff is always worth it), and S.M. Stirling�s On the Oceans of Infinity, the bulk of which I�ll probably save for my next airplane ride or trip to the beach.

When�s Lois McMaster Bujold coming out with another Miles Vorkosigan book, anyway?

3. WHAT'S ON YOUR MOUSE PAD?

The cat.

4. FAVORITE BOARD GAME?

Trivial Pursuit. Except for the Silver Screen edition--that one kicks my ass.

5. FAVORITE MAGAZINE?

The only three magazines I read consistently are Brill�s Content, The Columbia Journalism Review and Mother Jones. Oh, and my own, of course.

I once got The Utne Reader as a gift subscription and found it interesting for about 15 minutes, but then I realized that it was a big bobo clusterfuck and I didn�t renew.

6a. FAVORITE SMELLS?

Cedar. Sex. The inside of an all-night diner. Beer. The ocean. Freshly cut grass.

6b. LEAST FAVORITE SMELLS?

Cat shit. Ass sweat. Boiled broccoli.

7. FAVORITE SOUND?

The anguished pleas for mercy of all those who�ve wronged me.

8. WORST FEELING IN THE WORLD?

Having your still-beating heart ripped from your chest, pureed and then served to you in a gazpacho by someone who then says, "I hope we can still be friends." Having a metal rod removed from your shinbone by a doctor who says, "This will only hurt for a moment," ranks up there too.

9. WHAT IS THE FIRST THING YOU THINK OF WHEN YOU WAKE UP IN THE MORNING?

Shut up, you stupid cat.

10. FAVORITE COLOR?

Blue. No! YellowAAAAAAARRRRRRRGGGGHHHH!!!

11. HOW MANY RINGS BEFORE YOU ANSWER THE PHONE?

I don�t. Voicemail is my friend. Why answer the phone when nine times out of ten it�s a telemarketer, a PR flak trying to pitch me on a story idea, or someone else hell-bent on wasting my time?

12. FUTURE CHILD'S NAME?

Is this a trick question?

If I do decide to reproduce, I�m planning to clone myself, in which case I�ll be giving them version numbers instead of names--Mig2.0, Mig3.0, etc.

13. WHAT IS MOST IMPORTANT IN LIFE?

Power. Revenge. Money.

That�s what�s most important. As for what�s most desirable ... Love. Justice. Good friends. Peace of mind.

14. FAVORITE FOODS?

All of it. Gourmand, thy name is Mig.

15. CHOCOLATE OR VANILLA?

Neapolitan.

16. DO YOU LIKE TO DRIVE FAST?

I do. My car doesn�t.

17. DO YOU SLEEP WITH A STUFFED ANIMAL?

My sexual orientation is none of your damn business.

18. STORMS - COOL OR SCARY?

It never rains in California ... but girl, let me warn ya. It pours. Man, it pours.

19. WHAT TYPE WAS YOUR FIRST CAR?

1980 Dodge van, white. Code name: La Bamba.

20. IF YOU COULD MEET ONE PERSON DEAD OR ALIVE?

Either Hitler or Jesus. If I met Hitler I�d kick his ass for giving us aspiring World Overlords a bad name. As for Jesus, you know those bumper stickers that go, "Jesus is coming--and he�s pissed"? I think he is--pissed, that is--but not at the people who some of his louder, more obnoxious worshippers say he�s pissed at. I want to see the looks on their faces when they find that out.

21. FAVORITE ALCOHOLIC DRINK?

All of them.

22. WHAT IS YOUR ZODIAC SIGN?

Leo. Grrrr.

23. DO YOU EAT THE STEMS OF BROCCOLI?

See 6b above.

24. IF YOU COULD HAVE ANY JOB YOU WANTED WHAT WOULD IT BE?

You�ve read this far and you have to ask?

25. IF YOU COULD DYE YOUR HAIR ANY COLOR?

Fire-engine red.

26. EVER BEEN IN LOVE?

I thought I was, once. I was misinformed.

27. IS THE GLASS HALF EMPTY OR HALF FULL?

No glass stays half-full for long around here.

28. FAVORITE MOVIES:

I just listed them in my profile and I hate repeating myself. If you can�t stand not knowing, go there.

29. DO YOU TYPE WITH YOUR FINGERS ON THE RIGHT KEYS?

Sometimes I do, but at other times I don�t and nobods�lf �plasfk�eqw �asddkqpwok�A�;vm�d lfk�QP[WRI�WQI�;SFKL�AS LSKA�;

30. WHAT'S UNDER YOUR BED?

A gateway to another dimension. Things roll under there and disappear for years at a time. I had a dog once that vanished under my bed and by the time she came back she�d evolved opposable thumbs, she�d been gone so long.

31. WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE NUMBER?

2525. If Man is still alive. If Woman can survive.

(Admit it ... you thought I was going to say 69, didn�t you?)

32. FAVORITE SPORT TO WATCH?

Baseball. Go Padres!

Hockey�s a close second--a San Diego Gulls game is like anarchy on ice. My interest in basketball comes and goes, and I don�t care at all for football.

33. SAY ONE NICE THING ABOUT THE PERSON WHO SENT THIS TO YOU.

Jerseygrrl rocks the house. I want to commit a crime in her town just so she can solve it and fingerprint me.

34. PERSON YOU SENT THIS TO WHO IS MOST LIKELY TO RESPOND?

I�m not sending it to anyone--I�m just posting it here for your consideration. Of my friends here, I�m guessing krapsnart will be most likely to take up the challenge and answer all 35 questions--but then, I could be wrong. One of the things I like about my friends is their ability to surprise me.

35. PERSON YOU SENT THIS TO WHO IS LEAST LIKELY TO RESPOND?

Fedward. Because he hasn�t updated in, like, forever.

***

Go backwards ... Go forwards

current entry
previous entries
email miguelito


The Day Leslie Made Me Cool - 7:32 p.m. , 2006-12-14

Goodbye, Leslie - 12:02 a.m. , 2006-12-13

When the Nearest Lamppost Isn't Close Enough - 11:49 p.m. , 2005-09-06

Dear Kurt Vonnegut: Get out of my head. - 6:19 p.m. , 2004-05-14

The apocalypse will be televised - 11:35 a.m. , 2004-05-12



MIGUELITO