2002-02-12 - 10:38 a.m.

Spent a few minutes this morning reading this. Funny, but man-oh-man do I feel dirty now.

Could someone explain the reason for Legolas/Gimli slash fiction to me?

On second thought, no, please, don�t.

I�m sure that on March 24, millions of 45-year-old virgins in pointy wizard hats are going to howl with outrage when The Lord of the Rings fails to win the Best Picture Oscar, but quite frankly, it won�t win and it doesn�t deserve to. Don�t get me wrong, it�s an amazing film--much, much better than I�d expected, and possibly the best book-film adaptation I�ve ever seen--but A Beautiful Mind has the immense and malevolent power of Darth Opie behind it and thus will undoubtedly win, while Gosford Park is a better film than both of them.

If Peter Jackson is lucky he�ll take home Best Director--although a small part of me is rooting for David Lynch, if only so I can hear him say, "Peachy keen," during his acceptance speech and then start talking backwards.

***

It might have just been my imagination, but I could have sworn I saw one of the U.S. snowboarders mouthing, "Whoooooaaaaaaah," during the medal ceremony last night.

Still, that was cool. I�ve never cared much for skiing, whereas I could watch snowboarding all day. Snowboarders may very well get just as much as skiers in the way of money and corporate sponsorship and product endorsement deals, but snowboarding just seems more democratic--no one hops on the Concorde to spend the weekend in Gstaad snowboarding, as far as I know. Skiing is upper-class, snowboarding is stoner-class, and I�m totally down with the latter.

***

In case you�re wondering: Opie is the Apprentice. Aunt Bea is the Master.

***

So was that pairs figure-skating competition a fix, or what? I�m no expert, and I managed not to have an aneurysm over it like Scott Hamilton did on TV, but Jefus Chrift, as Ben Franklin might have said. The Canadian pair skates flawlessly and actually looks alive, the Russian pair stumbles during their program and otherwise shambles around like two freshly risen ice-zombies, and the Russians win the gold medal? What the fuck? I ask again, what the fucking fuck?

At least NBC can stop campaigning to make Canada a part of the U.S. now. I�m an American, and I don�t mind a little patriotism in my Olympics coverage, but when the networks start annexing neighboring countries, that�s where I draw the line.

***

Jury duty tomorrow. I�ll try to update, but if I wind up being sequestered all bets are off.

***

Go backwards ... Go forwards

current entry
previous entries
email miguelito


The Day Leslie Made Me Cool - 7:32 p.m. , 2006-12-14

Goodbye, Leslie - 12:02 a.m. , 2006-12-13

In Which Miguelito Discovers the Origins of His Evel Knievel Complex - 12:45 p.m. , 2003-11-17

You know that your generation is fucked when ... - 9:54 p.m. , 2002-10-15

Pedestrian rant - 11:46 p.m. , 2002-10-02



MIGUELITO